We are eager to welcome you for a safe visit! View our dashboard to get a good understanding of the current COVID-19 situation in Lawrence. 

Read More

Governing Board

The eXplore Lawrence Governing Board shall have seven (7) voting members, comprising the following positions: A representative employed by a full-service hotel within the city limits of Lawrence; a representative employed by a limited-service hotel within the city limits of Lawrence; a member of the elected body of the Lawrence City Commission; a representative from the cultural industry in Lawrence; a representative of a local university or educational institution; a representative of the sports and/or recreational industry in Lawrence; and a representative from the service/event management industry in Lawrence.

Go here to view the eXplore Lawrence Governing Board agenda and minutes.

Governing Board Members

Fally Afani
contact@iheartlocalmusic.com
785.979.5021
5/4/21 – 12/31/21
Cultural Industry

Heidi Champagne
Heidi.Champagne@Marriott.com
785.841.2700
1/1/21 – 12/31/23 
Hotel

Jamie Hays-Szelc
jhs@ku.edu
785.864.1461
11/17/2020 – 12/31/23
Sports/Recreational Industry

Peter Bobkowski
bobkowski@ku.edu
11/17/2020 – 12/31/23
Local University/Educational Institution

Ivan Simac
ivan.simac@countryinn.com
785.749.6010
2/11/20 – 12/31/21 First Term
Hotel

Mike Logan
mike@thegranada.com
785.550.5693  10/16/18 – 12/31/21 Second Term
Service/Event Mgmt Industry

Danny Caine
danny@ravenbookstore.com 
440.429.5289 
3/3/20 – 12/31/22 First Term
Representative of Tourism Industry

Porter Arneil
parneill@lawrenceks.org
785.832.3402
Ex-Officio – City Manager’s Office

Stuart Boley
sboley@lawrenceks.org
785.979.6699
Ex-Officio – City Commission

Hugh Carter
hcarter@lawrencechamber.com
785.865.4490
Ex-Officio – Lawrence Chamber

Sally Zogry
director@downtownlawrence.com
785.842.3883
Ex-Officio – Downtown Lawrence, Inc.

Staff Liaison

Kim Anspach, Executive Director
kanspach@explorelawrence.com
785.856.2389

For the purposes of membership, the hotelier representation will be defined as: Full-service hotels are generally mid-price, upscale or luxury hotels with a restaurant, lounge facilities and meeting space as well as minimum service levels often including bell service and room service. These hotels report food-and-beverage revenue as well as exclusive meeting space for conferences/conventions.

A limited-service hotel (also known as select-service or focused-service hotels), are generally rooms-only operations, (i.e., without food-and-beverage service) and may operate a business center for customers with a small meeting space./

The eXplore Lawrence Governing Board shall have seven (7) voting members, comprising the following positions: A representative employed by a full-service hotel within the city limits of Lawrence; a representative employed by a limited-service hotel within the city limits of Lawrence; a member of the elected body of the Lawrence City Commission; a representative from the cultural industry in Lawrence; a representative of a local university or educational institution; a representative of the sports and/or recreational industry in Lawrence; and a representative from the service/event management industry in Lawrence.

Board Meeting Announcements

Board Meeting Announcement

NOTICE OF EXPLORE LAWRENCE BOARD MEETING: SEPTEMBER 2021

  • 1 minute

Lawrence, KS, September 14, 2021– The eXplore Lawrence Governing Board March meeting will take place Wednesday, September 15, 2021 at 3:30 PM CST. The meeting will be administered using Zoom